CENTRAL OTAGO EVENTS

ANNUAL EVENTS & FESTIVALS

Central Otago is a natural arena for events, offering something for everyone! From motorcycle rally to multisport, horses to history, and festivals for wine, food, blossoms and thyme.

Whether participating or just watching, our events have that unique Central difference; where even an event can seem like a holiday! Many of the events held in Central Otago attract national and international support. There are also a number of smaller local events throughout the year.





All (24)
Showing 1 to 24 out of 24 results found
Date:
Friday, 26 Aug 2016
Event end:
Sunday, 28 Aug 2016
An ultra marathon 100km event, plus 50km and 80km events through the Naseby Forest.
Date:
Sunday, 28 Aug 2016
A new 3 stage event mountain bike race in Alexandra where competitors will earn points for their placing in each stage, to determine an overall winner.
Date:
Monday, 29 Aug 2016
11:06
Event end:
Saturday, 17 Sep 2016
Hard on the heels of their well received 'All That Hullabaloo' winter exhibition in Arrowtown the 15 artist collective continue their first decade celebrations with a large group show exploring their history. The show titled 'Past and Present' will be a unique opportunity to view the current members practice alongside the work that past members are now making.
Date:
Saturday, 3 Sep 2016
Event end:
Sunday, 4 Sep 2016
This is the longest Dryland Sled Dog Event in the world. Teams from all over NZ competing. Event runs from 2pm onwards teams will be starting, finishing & coming back into checkpoint area, the event will run thru out the night until approx 3am.
Date:
Saturday, 10 Sep 2016
Round 1 of the DH Southern Series based at Clyde Lookout Hill.
Date:
Sunday, 11 Sep 2016
The Linger & Die Enduro is held in the Clyde and Alexandra area. A staged race with timed sections of trail across the basin and untimed liasons in between.
Date:
Friday, 23 Sep 2016
Event end:
Sunday, 9 Oct 2016
The Contact Alexandra Blossom Festival has a rich and unique history. It is New Zealand’s longest running festival of its kind, and is a celebration of the arrival of Spring in Central Otago. Celebrated with genuine community spirit you too can join in the fun at a range of events.
Date:
Sunday, 25 Sep 2016
Blossom Festival Sunday sees the Linger and Die XC. An approx 30km race which includes luscious single track, tasty four wheel drive trails all peppered with rocks and gravel (bring your own salt).
Date:
Friday, 14 Oct 2016
Trashion into Fashion is a competition where garments are made largely from previousy used materials (bubblewrap, plastic bottles, wrapping paper, etc).
Date:
Sunday, 23 Oct 2016
The Cromwell Half-Marathon and 10km run or walk course takes you around many of Cromwell’s features including the golf course, Heritage Precinct and the shores of Lake Dunstan, all while enjoying spectacular mountain views.
Date:
Saturday, 29 Oct 2016
Event end:
Sunday, 6 Nov 2016
Thyme Festival is a week-long celebration of the arts and sustainability. Based in Alexandra and held in November each year when the hills are tinged with the purple of flowering thyme, there is a series of workshops, working artists, demonstrations, walks, talks, performances and exhibitions.
Date:
Friday, 11 Nov 2016
Event end:
Sunday, 13 Nov 2016
A world-class motor racing event at one of New Zealand's world-class motor racing facilities as the fantastic Highlands 101 returns for its forth year in November 2016!
Date:
Friday, 18 Nov 2016
Event end:
Sunday, 20 Nov 2016
The annual Gold *N* Notes Hoe down returns in 2016 to the Cromwell Race Course for three days of live country music performances.
Date:
Saturday, 26 Nov 2016
The Gutbuster mountain bike race deservedly gets its name from the challenging 75km course from Garston Hotel, up over the Hector mountains, through the spectacular Nevis Valley, and over Duffer’s Saddle on the Old Woman Range and down to Bannockburn
Date:
Sunday, 27 Nov 2016
Join the excitement at Cromwell’s Christmas at the Races. There’s plenty to keep everyone entertained throughout the day, including thrilling racing action, live music, and a range of delicious catering options.
Date:
Friday, 30 Dec 2016
This is a great holiday event with “3 races in 1” designed to cater for everyone. Starting at the Bannockburn Pub it’s a great sight to watch the field of over 500 bikers head off ‘en-mass’.
Date:
Monday, 2 Jan 2017
On the first weekend of January the Cromwell Wine & Food Festival is held in the picturesque grounds of the Cromwell Heritage Precinct.
Date:
Monday, 2 Jan 2017
09:30
Event end:
Sunday, 1 Jan 2017
Lake Dunstan Triathlon & Duathlon are held on the 2nd January each year, this is a great event on the lake with options to complete either two or three disciplines, with further permutations on the water to either kayak or swim this leg – you choose.
Date:
Sunday, 8 Jan 2017
This 96km road cycling race around Lake Dunstan is the way to see the countryside and enjoy a circuit that starts in Cromwell, travelling via Bendigo, Luggate, Queensberry and Lowburn back to Cromwell.
Date:
Saturday, 14 Jan 2017
The River Range Music Festival (formally Bannockburn Music Fest) is returning for it's third year on January 30th 2016. A one day festival set in Cromwell, Central Otago, New Zealand.
Date:
Saturday, 28 Jan 2017
Event end:
Friday, 3 Feb 2017
Bike Week NZ is a relatively new event on the calendar catering to motorcyclists with a sense of adventure and a thirst for fresh horizons.
Date:
Friday, 3 Feb 2017
Event end:
Monday, 6 Feb 2017
Waitangi Weekend will see the sounds of ukeleles echo through Manuherikia valley with the first ever Lauder Ukelele Festival.
Date:
Saturday, 4 Feb 2017
The Great Alexandra Craft Beer Festival, February 2017 - A festival of local craft beers, great food and local bands held annually in Pioneer Park on Waitangi Weekend.
Date:
Saturday, 25 Feb 2017
Event end:
Sunday, 26 Feb 2017
Since February 2000, the annual 150km Otago Central Rail Trail Duathlon has been on the last weekend of February.
Showing 1 to 24 out of 24 results found
email this pagesite maplegal information | login
evoSuite Tourism Marketing Software | Web Design by ReserveGroup